• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Need advice/help with these issues in my collection...

34 posts in this topic

Hey guys. I've been collecting for almost 4 years now and take care of my collection a great deal. However, I think I am still a newbie when it comes to storage.

I only bag and board my comics and put them directly in a long box after reading. However, the images below show what issues I'm having in my collection.

They are kept in a cool, dry, dark place as well.

Any advice to keep these things from happening is greatly appreciated! I may maybe over analyzing these things but I want to break bad habits if this is really something I need to worry about and want to keep my collection in mint to neat mint condition.

Thanks in advance for all the help and advice.

spine.jpg

slantcopy.jpg

leanv.jpg

curven.jpg

Put sturdy cardboard that fits the box snugly every forty books or so, minimum of four per box. You can buy them but its easy to size them yourself.

You can cut used Priority boxes to size and they work perfectly. You want to create the equivilant of firebreaks in the box.

This is a very timely question for me as I'm in the process of rebagging my whole collection and am also rexamining the very same long-term storage issues.

I have taken to laying the box over on it's side (just enought to make all the books slide left), and then returning upright. Either way you do it, it'll take constant effort to put the books back in correctly each time the boxes get moved.