• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

A Few Comic Art Collecting Questions - Blank Covers?

5 posts in this topic

Hi!

I'm new to collecting comic book art and have a few questions.

At this past NYCC, I picked up a blank Adventure Time cover and had Yanick Paquette do a cover with Swamp Thing and the AT characters (see link below to see image). I love the idea of using blank covers as they are small enough to build a nice collection. It also allows for me to obtain nice pieces from more than a couple of artists at a Con b/c I can leave a blank with each artist (vs taking a sketch book around to each).

Due to the limited number of blank titles, I'm wondering if anybody has purchased and can recommend blank comic books to use. I don't like the idea of a single paper b/c of the fact that its flimsy. Anybody have recommendations or thoughts?

I was also thinking about stepping up and getting original pages (which I've read are 11x17). What are you guys using to store your 11x17 pieces? It seems appealing to get pages from actual books but I wouldn't have the room to display a boatload of images, framed on the walls.

Thanks to everybody for your thoughts and time! I hope you are doing well!

Here is a link to the image of the Paquette:

OA doesn't have half as much appeal to me if I can't display it. Wouldn't want it gathering dust... but most people use Itoya portfolios. Have a search you should find a few threads on it.

Take your time.

I would suggest checking out the Signature Series Forum area in order to gain so added insight on blank comic art. A lot of us over there tend to post our images up and even conduct a little best of the best competition with one another.