• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Difference between Comic Art & Transparency?
2 2

51 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

I've been looking at some artwork recently to add to my collection and hang up in the ole' man cave. I've been eyeing anything I can find The Dark Knight Returns. I found some cool transparency stuff but was wondering if it's worth purchasing or what the difference between that and the original artwork? Also, if anybody can point me in the right direction for Dark Knight artwork I'd be very thankful!

I know that, judging by the art I've looked at. Remember, I'm a total newbie when it comes to this stuff. I just meant are some pieces worth it? Considering I'm not a all out collector and just want pieces to hang up.

yeah, those "production art" transparencies on ebay are frustrating. Its likely just some guy scanning comic books and printing on transparencies.

original dark night returns artwork is rare, and decent ones are in the tens of thousands.

Malvin

I see no difference between buying something like that from ebay or making your own stats.

If there is something out of my reach that I still want represented I usually look to see if I can possible attend a con for a sketch. Would certainly prefer to go down a recreation route or perhaps come up with something original that is done by an artist mimicking the style when it comes to DKR. Would still be pricey though.

Edited by Garf

For Dark Knight, Lynn Varley actually hand-painted bluelines for every interior page. To create these, they made "blue photocopies" of the pages and Lynn painted on top of them. Then transparencies of the B&W art were then placed on top of them to be shot for production. These are different than some of the printing "proofs" that none of the original art team ever touched.