• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Journey Into Mystery 83 - 125

37 posts in this topic

These are newbie questions regarding CGC'ing a collection. I just discovered this BB and I am new to the concept of CGC'ing a book. I am trying to locate more information about CGC (which I assume is a comic grading company somwhere in or near Sarasota, FL). I have a complete collection of JIM and early Thor. I am curious how to go about getting a large collection of comics evaluated by CGC economically. I have been hunting around the news groups here and have picked up a couple of mentions about the cost of having individual books evaluated. Is it worth getting a whole collection graded by what seems to be a standards group? I have been considering dumping my collection. Or is the cost of rating 50-100 books unreasonable? If each rating cost $15 dollars per book I know that it is probably not worth it to me. I stopped collecting these comics almost 20 years ago and most of the JIMs range from G (30) - FN (60) based on an estimate based on Overstreet grading. The Thor's are probably in a little better condition ( VG[50] - VF[80]).

In my opinion, it won't be worth it to you to send those books in if they're in that condition. Generally speaking, it's more worthwhile for higher grade stuff unless the books are exceptionally rare in any grade which JIM's and Thor books aren't.

Agreed.

The reason for this is because Journey into Mystery CGC'd VG and a raw VG have very little difference in term's of what they will sell for. You won't make up the difference in the cost of slabbing.