• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Wolverine Limited Series

9 posts in this topic

What did you say about my mom, bub? SNIKT!

Several years ago (2003), when I was a college student, a little movie called X2: X-Men United reminded me that I was an X-Men fan. I used to watch the cartoons as a kid, I had some action figures and even a few Age of Apocalypse issues I bought of the stands, but I was a bigger fan of another hero and another publishing company. Not long after I saw X2, I picked up a copy of Wizard with an article showcasing many great X-Men covers and a rundown of essential X storylines, this was my first introduction to the Dark Phoenix saga and Days of Future Past. One of the covers featured in the Wizard article was Wolverine #1, the classic 1982 limited series. I knew of Frank Miller, I had yet to read The Dark Knight Returns or anything from Sin City then, the artist name and cover art had me intrigued.

Over the holiday break that year, I was out shopping with my mom when we stopped at my LCS. On the wall was the four issue limited series, and all four covers looked good together! The cover to #1 was the best one to me, Wolverine with a grin, claws unsheathed in one hand and the other motioning you to come here, that orange background, I had to have it. My mom noticed this and took the issue from my hand, she said it would be a Christmas present; she also took issue #2 of the wall. I had been coming to this comic shop for a few years by then, the owner knew me as the Batman guy, when we took the issues to the counter, he said that these were not Batman and that the Wolverine issues must not be for me.