• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archie art: any fans and collectors here?
2 2

190 posts in this topic

First time poster (long time lurker). I am a newbie to comic art collecting. I started collecting Archie art over the past year. I grew up on Archie and have a strong connection to it. I was wondering how many of you collect Archie art, and who are your favorite artists to collect? I love Bolling (particularly his Little Archie), Lucey, Schwartz, Hartley, and Vigoda

I have a small collection of strips and stories (Montana, DeCarlo, Hartley, Edwards, Goldberg, Taylor, Schwartz, Bolling). Where do you go to find Archie art - conventions? ebay/HA/CAF? I was trying to find some Vigoda, Lucey, and Hartley but it seems almost impossible to find any pieces on ebay, CAF, and HA. Is art from these artists very rare to come by?

I enjoy this forum a lot and have learnt quite a bit about collecting from all of you. Thank you! 

I don't see too much Vigoda anywhere.  Lucey stuff comes up on ebay or auction houses sometimes, but can get pricey if the page is nice.  Heritage sold lots of Hartley pages & stories about a year ago, and it seemed they had some every week in their weekly auctions, but they haven't had any lately.   So, I think you have your basis covered watching out on ebay, Comiclink, & Heritage.  I'm sure the stuff you are looking for will come up from time to time. 

As far as conventions, my experience is many art dealers don't have all their inventory shown online.  So, you may find some of what you are looking for there as well.   Good luck.