• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Prelim Cover prices/feelings
1 1

50 posts in this topic

I've been collecting OA for about 4 months now and just came across two Frank Cho cover prelims.  I wanted to know what everyone thinks about the value on them, and how is value determined on prelim pieces?  Are prelims a collected market.  From what I can see, I would think yes, when someone cant afford a $10K original published piece, but then you have a similar piece where that shows the artist thought process and where hes going, I would think they would hold some value.  

Heres the two prelims I got.  By the way, they are huge, 14x20 so bigger than standard.

IMG_0824.JPG

IMG_0823.JPG

Those look great.

The strange thing I have seen with pre-lims is that they go for 5-20% of the published piece. Depending on the piece. 

What I never understood is how a finished prelim could sell for less than a similar looking sketch or commission piece by the same artist.  

I agree with you that the process is very cool. At the same time - the prelim is where the spark of creativity took place. The artist created magic from a blank page. The finished piece is usually a more detailed copy of the prelim. 

The reality is - that most comic art collectors prefer finished(slick?) looking pieces. Perhaps thats why most of us like inked more than pencils.  

Interesting topic - hope more folks here chime in on how they feel about this stuff.

Edited by Panelfan1

2 hours ago, malvin said:

yeah, 5-20% as a general rule seems about right.  It really depends and sometimes there is no logic. Like the rest of the hobby!

Malvin

agree and I think in general towards the lower end of the range.   20% is the real exception IMO