• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Venom Lethal Protector #1 unread lot

5 posts in this topic

Picked up a lot of 20 or so unread copies years ago at an estate sale.  Books are crisp and never been read.  Looking at Ebay I just saw what graded copies are going for.  Being they are virtually untouched, would you send them in for grading, or just leave raw?  I am new at comic book grading and will be sending in my 1st order soon...just looking for advise.

Thanks-

Claude

8 hours ago, 1966BARRACUDA said:

Picked up a lot of 20 or so unread copies years ago at an estate sale.  Books are crisp and never been read.  Looking at Ebay I just saw what graded copies are going for.  Being they are virtually untouched, would you send them in for grading, or just leave raw?  I am new at comic book grading and will be sending in my 1st order soon...just looking for advise.

Thanks-

Claude

If you aren't familiar with grading, I would take it slow at first. If you send all 20 copies for grading, there is a good chance you could be disappointed in some of the grades. 

When I first started sending books to the CGC, I was very shocked at some of the grades. Books that I thought were a dead ringer for "perfect" came back as 9.0s and 9.2s. After a while, I was able to learn how to accurately grade. Unfortunately, it was a very expensive lesson to learn back in my early days. 

I suggest that you compare five books at a time. Pick the best from each stack. Then, compare the four best copies and pick the best one out of the bunch. Send it off for grading and see how you do. Once you get an idea of what the CGC thinks, you can send off some of your other books. Just remember to wear non-powdered latex gloves when you handle the books. Foil covers can pick up finger grease fairly easily.