• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Just Inherited Some Comics from 1940's
5 5

183 posts in this topic

Hello!  I have recently inherited some pretty cool comics. I am just learning about the CGC and about comic grading, slabbing, etc. I think I want to have them professionally graded and slabbed. I understand the process for the most part. I think I want to sell. I am nervous send them in the mail. I understand there are CGC authorized peoople in my area. Should I find a trusted CGC person to do this sending off for me, or should I give this a go myself? I also understand I could meet a CGC person at a comic con, but I think this only saves me shipping costs? What are your thoughts, and advise?  

Comic 1.jpg

Comic 2.jpg

Comic 3.jpg

Comic 4.jpg

Comic 5.jpg

Comic 6.jpg

Comic 7.jpg

Edited by NomadCow13
Whole collection

I would find someone authorized to deal with CGC if I were you. Shipping books safely is an art,,,and if you are in possession of rare or valuable books,,,you will want to pack them safely and securely. You will find many good folks here on the boards willing to help. Where are you located may I ask?

Congrats on the inheritance and Welcome to the Boards!

I'd recommend that you review this thread about packaging books for shipping to anyone (including CGC):

Just like anything in life, some third party submitters are more reliable than others. Dropping books off at a convention that has a CGC rep will always be the easiest (if you don't mind standing in line). Make sure you have all the info to fill out the required forms no matter which option you choose. You can review that info here:

https://www.cgccomics.com/services/index.aspx

And above all - have patience! Grading takes time as this is sort of the peak of the season.