• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Did I do the right thing with my original FF#1?

29 posts in this topic

I'm NOT putting this topic on here to complain about CGC/CCS or their services.

I've been collecting for 50 years and have decided recently to start to sell off my 20K+ book collection. Sent my first four books into CGC for grading just to try the process out. One of them was my FF#1 which I'd purchased from an LCS soon after I'd started collecting. It was always one of my prized books. I love the FF.

It came back Restored/Slight C-1, Grade 4.0, Grader Notes (Color touch (Non-archival material small areas) Center Front Cover C-1, Color touch (Non-archival material small areas) Full Bottom Front Cover C-1, Light subscription crease front cover breaks color, Readers crease front cover breaks color, Small, multiple smudge back cover)

I was surprised as I'd never noticed the restorations before. After looking carefully with a lighted magnifier, I did see the red ink added to the title letters along the center crease, but did not see any other restorations. I had other collectors and LCS look too and they agreed.

After looking at Go.Collect and GPA, comparing what I thought I'd be able to sell the book for if I did CCS screening / restoration removal / CGC regrade / Universal vs. selling it as a Restored 4.0, I decided to gamble and resubmitted to CCS/CGC.

I got the image of the regraded book today. My first reaction was that I had seriously injured one of my children! The attached comparison front and back covers are attached.

The regraded book is Universal, Grade 3.5, Grader Notes (Light creasing to cover, Multiple hole cover, Readers crease front cover, Small tear center of spine, Subscription crease front cover).