• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Subscription fold

25 posts in this topic

I have a Fantastic Four 52 has the standard subscription fold from back in the day was just curious what's the average grade or highest grade a book with a subscription fold can receive I've only been a cgc member since July so this is my first time using the chat board if this is in the wrong spot I apologize any advice or pointers be appreciated thank you

15421507011086075747726381105134.jpg

15 hours ago, Eds said:

I have a Fantastic Four 52 has the standard subscription fold from back in the day was just curious what's the average grade or highest grade a book with a subscription fold can receive I've only been a cgc member since July so this is my first time using the chat board if this is in the wrong spot I apologize any advice or pointers be appreciated thank you

15421507011086075747726381105134.jpg

This is the correct spot for this post.

My grading skills are very amateur. IMO it's a: 3.5

IMO it is a GD/VG 3.0 due to the tape.

The grading standards state that a book in GD/VG 3.0 is allowed a "book length crease" so a subscription crease does not affect books in this grade. 

How much would a subscription crease detract from a higher grade book would all depend on the overall condition of that book.

As far as I am concerned...

I personally have no problem with a book with a subscription crease, it is the way things were done back then. (folded in half and placed in a plain brown folder), I actually had subscriptions back in the 60's.

It is part of the history of the book,IMO it gives the book personality, to me it is no different than a book with an "arrival date" or "distributor ink".