• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Getting Started

20 posts in this topic

I am completely new to this. I am in my 50's, and have a few thousand comics, mostly from 1975-1984. Most of those were bought new from comic shops, boarded bagged, and never read. 

I am realizing that comics which are graded here are far more likely to sell for a decent price than those which are not graded/slabbed, but just claimed to be in 'very fine' shape. I've looked at eBay completed sales for example and see listings for Conan The Barbarian in which a 9.8 book has sold for $100+ vs sub-$20 not graded. 

Given the number of boxed I have to sort through, what do you recommend I do to just get started? Pull out 10 titles that at least look like they are great shape, and have a shot at a high grade, and submit those? Or start with ones that will sell for higher regardless of grade? For example, aside from the bulk of 75-84, I have the first 200 or so Iron Man, starting with #1, but I know the earlier few dozen are likely 5.0- 6.0. I know not to kid myself about the grade.   My goal is to reduce the collection over time, selling off the titles that I'm not emotionally attached to. Like Conan. Iron Man, I'd be likely to keep, and let my grandkids sell the set when I'm gone. But, at some point, get the ones worth the time all graded to make the selling easier. 

I am sorry if the question seems all over the place, but as the title says, this is my first time trying to get going. 

On 3/4/2019 at 2:58 PM, FWM said:

I am completely new to this. I am in my 50's, and have a few thousand comics, mostly from 1975-1984. Most of those were bought new from comic shops, boarded bagged, and never read.