• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Cleaning a cover without a restored grade?
1 1

43 posts in this topic

All depends on the severity of the fingerprint impression. Has it affected the inks? Does it appear to be a surface only issue? Could be a simple fix or result in ink loss, which would be hammered by CGC. 

1 hour ago, Jasonmorris1000000 said:

D780A56A-67C3-46DB-BEA7-C37161B6491E.jpeg

He asked for a picture . . . not an electron micrograph. :baiting:lol

That looks like some strange planetary surface.

Edited by divad

2 hours ago, Iconic1s said:

What are your thoughts on this?  Is that foxing, or does it look like something else?

Appreciate any info!

. . . It's not something else. :grin:

13 hours ago, aardvark88 said:

You can try Wonder bread to reduce the foxing but I am not a professional. (:

someone posted a video of that was that you? 

I still can't believe someone tried to clean a book with Bread.... I mean bread which crumbles can leave residue damage the book possible more how does bread lift dirt 

1 minute ago, Krishosein said:

I still can't believe someone tried to clean a book with Bread... how does bread lift dirt 

Wonder bread is a substitute when one does not have Silly Putty in the home to clean and lift off residue. To remove dust shadows, just rub a Kleenex. It works.

2 hours ago, aardvark88 said:

Wonder bread is a substitute when one does not have Silly Putty in the home to clean and lift off residue. To remove dust shadows, just rub a Kleenex. It works.

I've also heard of cases where some people (experts, mind you) have simply looked at a stain on a book the right way and it disappeared. 

Edited by Phill the Governor

4 hours ago, Krishosein said:

someone posted a video of that was that you?