Is this book trimmed?
1 1

8 posts in this topic

34 posts

Avengers #38. Seller stated this was VF/NM and unrestored. I am NOT good at detecting trimming, but is it normal for edges to look this rough?

20190810_113731.jpg

20190810_113738.jpg

20190810_113743.jpg

20190810_113751.jpg

20190810_113759.jpg

20190810_113809.jpg

2,749 posts
Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, theCapraAegagrus said:

Looks like awful trimming to me.

Not trimmed. Looks like one would expect but it's a dull blade factory cut. Avengers in the 35-40 range seem to suffer a lot from an edge or two being like this. On this one, it's all 3, but only trimmed once; in production, when manufactured.. Ironically, most trimming does not look like this. Trimming usually results in a smoother edge than when manufactured! Most trimmed books start out with edges like this. Rough, or with chips/pre-chips.

Edited by James J Johnson

34 posts

Thank you for the response. Can't believe how bad factory cuts can look. Still not sure this is a VF/NM grade, but I will keep it. 

2,749 posts
On ‎8‎/‎10‎/‎2019 at 9:03 PM, Motor City Rob said:

Thank you for the response. Can't believe how bad factory cuts can look. Still not sure this is a VF/NM grade, but I will keep it. 

VF/NM?!? :whatthe: 

No. It's not even in the ballpark of VF/NM. More like out in the parking lot of VF/NM. For reasons other than the rough cut.

2,596 posts
On 8/11/2019 at 12:03 AM, Motor City Rob said:

Note the way minute flaws on the cover line up with more noticeable flaws on the page edges; from a trimming standpoint, it's exactly what you want to see on an untrimmed book. But I'm not convinced it's a VF/NM either...there's quite a bit of color-breaking edge and spine wear for a 9.0. Still, a bright, tight copy... (thumbsu

2,749 posts
41 minutes ago, The Lions Den said: