• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Where to store valuable comics and insurance
1 1

42 posts in this topic

I've been building my collection for a few years now and have collected some pretty rare comics. I submitted a bunch of them to an appraisal service, and they came back worth pretty close to 1m.  Where do you guys store your comics? Do you insure? Do you have separate insurance, or is it on your homeowners?

I keep them in my closet but I dont have 1 million...I have 40k

However I have a security camera and insurance through cis..... collectible insurance services. Give them a call....you dont even need an appraisal, just tell them what your collection is worth. 

48 minutes ago, jason4 said:

I keep them in my closet but I dont have 1 million...I have 40k

However I have a security camera and insurance through cis..... collectible insurance services. Give them a call....you dont even need an appraisal, just tell them what your collection is worth. 

Yep, have a similar setup. I've quoted through homeowners, and they want a 3500 premium. It's one of the reasons why I only have two insured and a blanket of $150k for the others.  I am 759k short. Never in my wildest dreams did I expect it to reach this valuation.  Selling isn't really a good option as I'd be screwed by a huge tax bill north of 30% with Fed and State.  I will check with CIS.  Are they reliable?  I just fear if something happened to them they'd just not pay. 

I live in Jersey and I have had my books stored in my bedroom for 40 years.

Just be sure that all books are stored in Mylites with Acid Free Boards (unless CGC Graded), in the proper Comic Book Storage Box, in a Controlled Environment away from all UV Light, Moisture and Heat Sources.