• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Art Recreated by Original Artist
1 1

28 posts in this topic

Hi, I'm new to art collecting. Is there any value in a famous comic cover redrawn by the original artist? It is not the actual art used for publication but a very exact replica. E.g., a redraw of a famous cover. 

I'm basically asking what it would be valued at relative to the original. Dime a dozen or still pricey. X-Men 266 original cover art went for $130k. 

Edited by eastcoaster

It depends but typically they aren’t valuable .   If you had one done for commission  price someone else could get it done for commission price too so why would anyone in the secondary market pay more than commission price?

Worst case scenario for value is that the original published cover exists, the artist has a low commission price, is still alive and producing commissions, and has no qualms about doing multiples of the same cover.   

Best case scenario for value is that the original published cover does not exist, the artist is long since passed, and your commission is the only one he ever did.    Even in the best case scenario though, it’s still not the real thing and people will bid accordingly.     But, you’ll get a better result than in the other scenario for sure.

As this illustrates part of the value in having published art is that the supply is permanently capped at one.    

Edited by Bronty

How about if the original artist only did one recreation?

The Original exists and the recreation is the next best thing.

For example, didn't the ASM 100 recreation sell for a pretty good price?

Also the recent discussions of the Batman 251 Cover and the recreation that sold.

I would say these 2 examples fall unter the yes they are collectible and are valuable category.