• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Why is a 9.8 copy of Batman Adventures #12 so extreme expensive?
1 1

29 posts in this topic

I started a small comic collection last year with some recent books and covers I really like. At some point I came across this book:

Batman Adventures #12
1st appearance of Harley Quinn

I do like the cover and thought: Why not add it to my collection. So I started looking for it and was very surprised: 9.8 graded books go for 1,000-1,200 USD and 9.6 for around 650 USD at the moment.

Now, you see I’m fairly new to the comics market but I thought: Maybe it’s about this 1st appearance thing.

Then I took a look at the census: Currently there are 844 copies with 9.8 and 1,308 with 9.6 and counting. Most of the books listed in the last months on eBay are graded within the last year. So it seems more books in very good quality are available.

Can someone explain, what makes this issue so super expensive even so there are sooooo many graded copies?

Thank you. :)

C6DDC26A-E9AA-46F3-BC9E-8A2350BEC5D6.jpeg

10 hours ago, Mercury Man said:

Supply vs. Demand.   

Hm, that simple. But if there are more and more copies coming to the market with high grades, why not wait and buy for less. But I guess it’s the concern that also all the held back books might not meet the demand.

9 hours ago, Agent666 said:

See also: ASM #300, IH #181, etc.

That ASM #300 is crazy. Over 20k graded copies. But it absolutely supports the “Supply vs. Demand” claim. I never thought that the collectors market is that huge for key issues.

Thank you both.

I guess I’ll hold onto my two Dective Comics 1000 Alex Ross Variants, signed and graded, a little longer then. :D

4 hours ago, pxpusher said: