• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Hi I’m new to this and I have a few questions
2 2

5 posts in this topic

Hello, could someone please answer a few questions?

1. What is a “grading credit”? I’m considering getting the mid tier subscription and that seems to be the only difference from the $25 starter tier. 
2. What is the difference between “modern”, “value”, etc. Do I need to actually know the value of the comic I’m sending in? Does that really make a difference in the cost of grading?

3. Is this process as simple as buying the sub and sending in the comics?

thanks for your time

Welcome! Relative Newbie myself but hopefully I can share some helpful info. 

The grading credit is applied to your submission invoices until it's used up. Let's say you submit $400 worth of submissions; you would get $150 off the first submission. If you submitted a single signature series comic at say, $70, you'd use $70 of that $150 and still have more left to apply to the next submission. I think the credit does not apply towards and pressing services or shipping fees. 

The modern versus value type tiers- you have choices on how to submit your comics. The choices available impact how long it takes to grade and get them back versus how much it costs to grade. At the membership tier you mentioned, it'll cost $18 for grading each modern comic with no extras such as custom labels or fast track. It'll cost less if you go with the highest membership level. Definitely consider how many submissions you intend to make over the course of a year to see which one makes the most sense for your needs.