• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

First Appearances According to CGC

78 posts in this topic

Although I have been collecting for a few years I still consider myself a novice when it comes to overall comic knowledge. One issue I am having is First appearances. Most are not debatable but some are including Wolverine. Regardless of anyone's opinion the money is on 181 and that it not debatable. For other book that do not get as much attention when their first appearances are debated a novice like me never really gets an answer. Specifically, I am looking for the first appearance of Mace Windu in comics. I have used several tools. (key collector, comicbookrealm, facebook, ect) but came up with different answers. 1) Does anyone here know the first appearance? 2) Does cgc have an official list of what they recognize as first appearances?

No CGC does not give out an official list. They're really inconsistent.

Obviously the market has landed on #181 as the most important book. It's clearly his 1st appearance in a story. But it's undeniable that #180 is his true first full appearance. Wolverine is shown in full costume, with name reveal AND multiple speaking bubbles.

Same with ASM #299. The $$ has landed on #300 but #299 is Venom's true first full. Full costume reveal, name reveal and speaking bubbles.

See Batman #89 or TMNT #51 for TRUE cameos. #89 you only see Punchline's chin. TMNT #51 you only see Jennika as a generic ninja in a couple panels and her mask isn't removed til #52. 

Star Wars 1sts are probably the most confusing with early Marvel / IDW / current Marvel and so many different characters and stories.

Edited by Mikey C

7 hours ago, Mikey C said:

No CGC does not give out an official list. They're really inconsistent.