• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Best Bronze Runs (DC first)

32 posts in this topic

Hi y'all. Newbie here--sorry if this has been done before. I've seen discussion of best single-issue stories, best artists in bronze age, etc. but have not seen a listing of the board's view of best runs in the bronze age. So let's get started with a DC list-- there seem to be lots of knowledgable Marvel readers on the board, so I'm looking forward to getting some ideas back on good reads from Marvel in this period.

First, some definitions-- I'm calling the Bronze Age 1970-75. Feel free to disregard this definition in composing your own lists, but arguments about the def'n belong on that other thread!

A run needs to be consecutive stories featuring the same cast of characters by the same creators (fill-ins can be included or not, your choice.) A run need not appear within a single magazine.

Unfortunately, I was not able to craft a def'n that would allow me to include those great Denny O'Neil - Neal Adams Batman stories in Detective and Batman. But safe to say that Detective 395, 397, 404, 410, Batman 232, 237, 243, 244, 251 are required reading!

So here goes:

10. Superboy/Legion 191, 193, 195, 197-202. Dave Cockrum's first super-team. Absolutely beautiful stuff. Gotta love those new groovy costumes on the chicks-- It was the Seventies after all!

9. Phantom Stranger 14-26. One of Len Wein's first series--P.S. is narrator and sometimes-actor in dreamy stories not disturbing enough to qualify as nightmares (we'd need to wait for Alan Moore's Swamp Thing for that), but spooky and slightly disquieting nonetheless.