• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Grade these two books.......

13 posts in this topic

Ok, I am pretty new to actually knowing what to look for when grading.

A. http://images.heritagecoin.com/images/hnai/300/13031/13031016118o.jpg

Take a look at these books. One is Batman 400 graded at 9.8. My first comment is on the binding. It looks to be off as the pages come further out than the cover. Two, the lower left corner. It is a pretty bad corner for a 9.8. Three, the top left corner also looks a bit rough.

B. http://images.heritagecoin.com/images/hnai/300/13031/13031007009o.jpg

They list this book as a 6.0. This book has a lot of spine stress. Cover is offset like the previous book mentioned. Colors look good. What would you grade this book.

By looking at these books I can get a better idea of how to grade. I do realize that you must grade a book once it is in your hands, but this is a good headstart grading covers.

-Jeremy-

If the slabbed copy was resubmitted I don't think it would get a 9.8 again. The ding on the lower left corner could be post-slabbing but it looks like a common bindery tear. You usually suffer a hit of one or two grades for those. That plus the curious right edge of the book would lead me to think this is more of a 9.4 or so.

The unslabbed one has a rusty staple, some stress on the left edge, but no major obvious creases elsewhere. It has a rather inconspicuous date written on the cover which I really do not like but CGC doesn't seem to detract much for. I think a book in FN (6.0) condition should still have good eye appeal. This one is close, but on the low side IMHO. I would go more of a 5.0 to 5.5 for this one. smile.gif