• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Silver age Marvel comics that went up in value?

38 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I just started collecting comics, and I'm focusing on Daredevil, X-men, Amazing-Spider-man, Tales of Suspense, Fantastic Four, and Avengers. (I know they are a lot, but I love them all :D ) I'm trying to build small runs from the first issues to the last ones of the Silver age.

Since I'm a newbie, I was wondering which of these series I should avoid for the moment. Did any of them went up in value recently?

Thank you very much.

Enrico

Enrico,

All of those comics have risen steadily over the past few years. Comics have experienced a great resurgence thanks to the awesome movie and tv shows. Best advice I can give you is to find in best value for those in your local area, or catch them at auction on eBay.

Hi Enrico,

I don’t know if you should "avoid" them, but right now you will find more or less "overpriced" at least the following, which are the first which come to mind.

I am sure others will have more to add:

– Daredevil #4 (first appearance of Killgrave the Purple Man – Atlas TV series);

– Daredevil #18 (first apperance of the Gladiator);

– Daredevil #131 (first apperance of Bullseye);

– Daredevil #168 (first apperance of Elektra);

– Amazing Spider-Man #31 (first apperance of Harry Osborn and Gwen Stacy);

– Amazing Spider-Man #50 (first apperance of Kingpin);

– Amazing Spider-Man #121-122 (death of Gwen and Green Goblin, "naturally rising", for various reasons);

– Amazing Spider-Man #129, 135 (Punisher, for the TV shows);

– Uncanny X-Men #4 (first apperance of Scarlet and Quicksilver);

– Uncanny X-Men #101, 125-137 (Phoenix, Hellfire Club etc.);