Am I hosed?
1 1

22 posts in this topic

roostir   
  • 8 posts

Hi everyone!

Are you ready for a sad story? Well, I've got one and I would appreciate any feedback or advice anyone has. I recently received a batch of books (11 in total) back from CGC. I am not an expert on this process, but all in all, I was pretty happy with the results considering several 9.8's and books otherwise graded as anticipated, etc..  However, I was heartbroken to discover that my most valuable book (Walking Dead #1) came back with a 9.0. I really thought it was a nice book. I had purchased it on the bay and here were the seller's condition comments from the listing, "Near Mint NM 1st. This is a beautiful copy with sharp corners and white pages. There are two light stress lines on the cover, which are visible at a particular angle to the light. One is near the spine (picture 9), the other is near the "D" in the logo (picture 10).  No other flaws that I can detect.". When I received the book and inspected it, I agreed with the seller's comments. Really nice book. With this in mind, I sent it for pressing and then on for grading and I took pictures the day I sent it off (see attached before and after).