• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

How common are Newton's rings?

16 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

Long story short: I'm a newbie at the whole graded comics thing. I decided to take the plunge and get five of my comics graded, and I recently got them back. I am mostly very happy with the service but noticed that one of my comics has a few Newton's rings (the other four look completely fine -- no Newton's rings). I am aware that Newton's rings won't damage the comic and that they are the result of different refraction indices between the different plastics used in the slabs.

I guess my question is how common is this problem? My rate of Newton's rings is 20%, but I have a pretty small sample size of five books. I'm just wondering how widespread this issue really is. 

I know that they're not the end of the world, but I do find the Newton's rings to be aesthetically unappealing; they're one of those things I can't "unsee." Any insight/input would be appreciated. Thanks!

Newton's Rings.jpeg

37 minutes ago, I like pie said:

It's not very common right now. Once in awhile, I'll get 3-5 our of a 25 book submission that are not acceptable.

CGC will reholder at no charge for bad ones and credit you for return shipping.

What's a "bad one", because most of the 30 or so most recent ones I've gotten back have multiple rings? Thanks!

2 hours ago, KEY ISSUES Comics said:

What's a "bad one", because most of the 30 or so most recent ones I've gotten back have multiple rings? Thanks!

These are clearly bad ones but really, it's up to the customer as to what is acceptable to them. Isn't it?

166513062_ghostrider.thumb.jpg.84b610aca9f8cd1706c96bd652b90592.jpg

saga.thumb.jpg.7be5091fccea1e9ed2f3ae44a00d6c29.jpg

6 minutes ago, I like pie said: