• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Information on 'Blue Line' pages

22 posts in this topic

I'm pretty new to collecting OA. I've only been collecting since this past Christmas and I have a question or two.

The first couple of pages that I bought, I could see the artists pencil lines underneath the inker's work.

But the next couple of pages I bought had blue lines underneath the inker's work. Which I thought was odd.

1. What are the blue lines?

2. Do the pages that I have with blue lines mean that technically I only have the inker's work and not the penciller's work as well.

3. If the answer to question #3 is that I only have the inker's work. Does that mean that the pencils to that page exist somewhere?

4. Could there potentially be two owners of the same page out there somewhere? One who owns the pencils only and one who owns the inked over blue line page?

5. Does owning an inked over blue line page affect it's worth?

I've sent an email to the inker who did one of the 'blue' pages that I bought hoping that he could shed some light on the subject, but haven't heard from him.

Your wisdom would be greatly appreciated

It could just be blue pencil. Some people pencil in non photo blue pencil. Is it a little greasy feeling? If that's the case, it's just like any other piece of art and there's only the one.