Amazing Spiderman Collecting Thread!
28 28

7,065 posts in this topic

This thread grew out of some discussions in the ASM 275 9.9 thread in Copper. It turns out a couple of us are working on complete ASM runs of varying lengths, and probably many others are too. I'll start...

I've been working on an ASM #1-64 run for many, many years now. (In a sense, it started with some SA Spideys I bought in the 1980s back when then were really cheap!... though I was much too unfocused as a collector back then to make any progress.) Always loved the title, loved the character and have a special fondness for the earlier Ditko issues.

In the last 5-6 years, mostly thanks to ebay, I've been chipping away at filling in issues I need. For the pricier keys, I've been staying in presentable 2.0-4.5 range due to budget, leaning more towards mid-to-high grades as I go later in the run.

Issues I still need: #1, 2, 13, 16, 20, 31, 41, 46, 60 & 63! (Not sure if I'm willing to spend what it takes for #1 and #2, as I prefer to spend serious money on GA rather than SA books...but we shall see.) 893scratchchin-thumb.gif

So, feel free to discuss ASM runs you're working on (doesn't need to be "silver only"), how you collect, which issues you're still after, and of course, post 'em if you got 'em, guys! thumbsup2.gif

Here's a sweet Spidey #4 I picked up recently. It was tough to find a low-grade copy that presented as nicely as this one does. Fading of the cover reds and tanning can be a big problem with lower-grade #4s. Love this cover! cloud9.gif

asm4.jpg

Issues I still need: #1, 2, 13, 16, 20, 31 , 41, 46, 60 & 63!

893scratchchin-thumb.gif

Hi, Chris! I did see your #31 and it's very nice, but unfortunately it's just more than I'm looking to spend to fill in that issue. Appreciate the heads-up!

hi.gif Great idea Point Five!!!