• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

?? Green Label fair market value vs. having restoration on said green label book

28 posts in this topic

so...I'm not new to comics but I am new to grading properly and CGC. I'm concerned because I foolishly purchased a Superman 4 listed as CGC 8.0. I paid 2500.00 thinking it was a good deal (buyer beware..i know ). As I was" checking out "of the auction I noticed it was listed as green label missing 2 pages (but this wasn't mentioned on the main auction page..it just said CGC 8.0). I contacted the auction site (not Ebay) and they said all sales are binding and final on CGC books. I read in here that missing pages qualifies as a 0.5 grade making this book worth about 100.00. First off...is this true ? and second: would it be worth it (or ethical) to purchase a 1.0 for 200.00 and have the pages professionally restored in my book from the secondary book? I guess this would mean replacing staples and receiving a purple label. Would i recoup my money on that particular book and would anyone buy a restored superman 4 8.0. it seems people don't touch restored books and only fools like myself pay 2500 for a green label book. I could really use some good advice since i'll be sleeping on the couch for a month once my wife finds out :).